Daily Dabbles: Becoming My RA

So much has changed since this time last year! I have a job, I have new friends and I have a new perspective as to what it means to become your job. If I had a dollar for every time I referred to my RA last year simply as my RA and not by her name, I wouldn’t have to worry about paying for college ever again. At the time, I didn’t see anything wrong with it, she was my RA. I lived in the same building as her and went to her events, I talked to her about school and asked her typical freshman problems.

However, I didn’t think about what calling her my RA meant. I’m not saying that referring to her as that is wrong, or anything. All I’m saying is that as an RA this year, I want to be more than just an RA. I want to be a friend and a resource, oh and I also have a name (and hint it’s not RA). Being an RA is just a job title, and it’s only a part of who I am. I am also a sister and a student and a whole bunch of other things.

This job is something that speaks for itself. Depending on the individual and my relationship with them, calling me “the RA” might not be a big deal. However, there is a positive and negative connotation to be “the RA”. I can either be viewed as a soulless dictator who spends their time sniffing for trouble, or I can be viewed as a friend who wants the best for everyone and want to see people be successful.

At the end of the day, I am more than my job. However I can still be defined by my job. Does that make any sense? What I’m trying to say (if I can get this right) is that I am not just a some girl who makes you sign for packages. I have a variety of interest, hobbies and talents that others might not see if they judge me solely on the fact that I am an RA. But at the same time, in order to have gotten this job in the first place, I needed to display certain characteristics that are expected in someone to be successful as an RA. I do care about building community and helping others, because if I didn’t I probably wouldn’t have applied for this job in the first place.

That’s pretty much it. I’ve had this idea stewing in my brain for a bit and I wanted to get it out. By the way, my staff has a running count of days that I have gone injury free and I am happy to say that I am almost in the double digits! I can’t help the fact that I am extremely clumsy and accident prone, or that sometimes the universe likes throw things in my way. It’s kinda a joke between us and it’s just a great deal of fun. Also more kudos to my staff for being the best staff ever, I know I saw that every time, but honestly I think this year is going to be AMAZING!

xo

Chid

2 thoughts on “Daily Dabbles: Becoming My RA

Leave a comment