Daily Dabbles: This Semester in Review

Wow! I can’t believe that I’m almost done with my first semester of college! Time has passed my by so fast, and I don’t know where it has gone. Days felt long and weeks ran by quickly. So much has happened too! Looking back to my senior year, I always envisioned college as something out of my league. I thought classes were going to be mind-numbingly hard and that all my high school preparation of taking AP classes and exams wouldn’t help me one bit. I imagined being stressed out on the daily, and possibly having a mental breakdown.

Thankfully, nothing to that extent has happened. A few tears of frustration have been shed, but I’ve yet to pull an all-nighter (this is pre-finals me talking, and this statement is subject to change) and all the stress that I’ve had I was able to deal with. Academically, all the classes that I’m taking are challenging,but not to the point where I feel like I’ll have to drop out of college and sell watches out of my jacket. I really like all of my classes and my professors are all amazing (which is crazy considering I had the very last slot for orientation, so I couldn’t register for classes until the beginning of August)!
One of the hardest things that I had to deal with this semester was balancing school and friends. In my residence hall, we have a tight knit community (if not the best) and everyone is super fun, accepting and loving. I mean, yes we fight sometimes,  but it’s all good natured and doesn’t last long. We like to hang out in the lobby and just be together watching TV, playing spoons, or shooting up zombies on CoD. Nearly everyday, the group, self-dubbed “Smith Mob” and “Smith Fam” stay up until 1 am, or earlier (later?) in the morning. Well, I’m an old lady and I need at least 10 hours of sleep and on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays I have 8 am classes. I’d always hate being the first one to tap out and call it a night, but when I didn’t I’d be falling asleep the next day in class.
I also really hate missing out on things. It’s kinda bumming to see my friend’s adventures on Snapchat and know that they were making memories without me. I’m not saying that I never went out on a limb and party til the crack of dawn a couple of times, but most of the time I crawled into bed a couple minutes before 12.
College also gave me the opportunity to expand my circle of friends and meet new people. It’s kinda cool meeting people from all different walks of like and different beliefs. Being taken only an hour away from my hometown was more of culture shock than I thought it would be. My high school was lukewarm, compared to the vibrant personalities of Texas State. I think most of it has to do with the pressure to fit in while in high school, but in college it’s a little easier to find who you are and your niche of friends.
I’ve also grown a lot in my faith. Going to church is something that I made a priority and it has blessed my life immensely. Not only have I met some of the coolest kids in town, I’ve been able to solidify myself in my beliefs. On Friday’s I sometimes spend the day with the AMAZING sister missionaries and it’s helped me become more open about sharing my beliefs with others.
If you ever had any doubts about the Freshman 15….. It’s real and it’s kicking my butt. In the beginning of the semester, I found it a lot easer to go to the rec and actually work out, but as the semester has waned, so has my motivation. I’m not going to lie, I make up the lamest excuses on why I can’t go to the rec:
  • It’s too far
  • It’s too cold
  • All of my sports bras are dirty
  • I just started watching this season of Supernatural
  • It’s  super windy, therefore nature is telling me to stay inside, and you don’t want to argue with nature
  • I can’t find my matching sock, it’s a sign from the universe to go eat Panda Express
  • Cramps
  • Jimmy told Sally that Kerry is lactose intolerant, obviously no one can work out with that kind of distressing news.

But anyway, this semester has been amazing and hopefully next semester will rock too!

Leave a Reply

