Real Talk: Black Friday Shopping and Consumerism

*NOTE* I am not a professional… I repeat, I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL. Everything I have to say is with my limited knowledge of basic things that I learned in like… high school.

On with the show.

I love shopping. Like I really love shopping. And the only thing that keeps me from shopping myself into bankruptcy is the fact that I’m already poor.

#collegestruggle

This year, something really surprised me, and not in a good way. I found out that some stores were starting Black Friday sales on Thursday. Like during Thanksgiving. I could handle the 12 AM door-busters, but 6 PM on Thanksgiving was something that I couldn’t wrap my mind around. Those poor employees that had to work instead of being with their families, or shelving merchandize instead of watching the Cowboys game.

And that really upset me. In a world where consumerism is taking precedence over family values, there has to be someway to get back in touch with the things that really matter. Yes, I love getting gifts and going shopping, but the time spent waiting in line when I could be with my family isn’t as valuable.

If we continue on this trajectory, who knows what will happen in 10 to 15 years? Will Black Friday start on Thurday morning? Will our children even know what it was like to wake up and see their whole family at home, or bonding over a slice of pumpkin pie?

Anyway….

So this morning I woke up with the urge to buy something. Anything. Being a broke college kid, I was ecstatic when I was handed a twenty by my mom before I headed off to campus. When I woke up this morning, I realized WOW it’s Cyber Monday! I then started scrolling through pages and pages of things I wanted to buy, not because I needed them, but because they were on sale.

Then I realized that I was almost as bad as the people who elbow nice old ladies at the store to get the last Batman Lego set on Black Friday. With consumerism, the only way to succeed is to spend. Our economy thrives on the fact that within a couple of months, expensive things such as phones, computers,  and things such as clothes and shoes go out of date. There’s a new iPhone every year, and the prices keep increasing, not because the cost to produce them is, but because Apple knows that with such a high demand for their products, people will be willing to pay the price.

*exhales deep breath*

Okay, I’m done. I promise.  That’s all I have for this little soapbox rant.

P.S When I started writing this, it actually was Monday 🙂

-CA

 

Leave a Reply

