Daily Dabbles: So You Think You Can Be An RA?

So, if you’re like me babysitting was the only real job that you’ve ever had. Sure, I’ve worked at church camps and such, but like an actual after school job was something that I never had. It wasn’t that I was well off or anything, but I couldn’t drive and both of my parents were in school as well as worked  and couldn’t drop/pick me up on a regular schedule.

ANYWAY.

So I’ve just applied to be an RA (Resident Assistant) and it is the most nerve-wracking, heart-wrenching, spirit-crushing thing I’ve ever done. Coming into college, I never thought someone could make such an impact in my life until I met my RA’s. They are the most loving, understanding people I’ve ever met, and without them I’m pretty sure I would’ve packed up my things and gone to become a bum on the streets.

Or something like that.

Ever since then, I knew that I wanted to have that same impact on someone’s life. If I only help one person through a rough day, that would be enough for me. Because I want this so much, there’s a certain level of stress factor that has steadily been increasing. It doesn’t help that there are literally HUNDREDS of other amazing candidates who have ten times as much work experience than I do, and are probably just as passionate and caring as I am.

I just want this job so much, and if I don’t get it I’ll be crushed. To some people, it might just be a job that pays for housing and meal swipes that is conveniently on campus. But to me, it’s another chance to serve the community around me and help others as I have been helped. After I’ve graduated, I want to be able to look back at my time and know that I have positively changed someone’s life as well as grown as a person.

Last week, we had a mixer with all the RA Applicants, and it was eye opening and frightening at the same time. I was glad to see all the different types of people that I could be working with and it was pretty awesome to know my “color”. (I was blue by the way- we’re the affectionate caring ones) As well as working with all the other colors:

Orange-  were super vibrant and outgoing

Gold- were organized and put together

Green- were the initiators and very professional l

As great as an experience as that was, it also shook my confidence like an earthquake. There are SOO many great people, and I have to make myself stand out from the sea of them. I’m a natural introvert, so this is going to be stretch for me. But at the same time, it’s something that I really want, and I’m not going to let anything, not even myself, get in the way of trying my best.

Finger’s crossed because I have my first interview on Friday and I’m just short of constantly peeing my pants.

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

