Daily Dabbles: Freshman Year Is Over

The thing that makes life so crazy is that we keep on living. I remember thinking that it would definitely take about a billion years for me to graduate from high school. I swear, the year 2014 always seemed like a distant thing of the future, and then it came an went in a blink of an eye. I can’t believe it’s been a year since I graduated, in many ways I still feel like I’m in high school. The need to fit in is still there, the confusion of what you are doing with your life is still there, and for me, I’m still in that awkward phase of trying to find my “style” or where I “belong” (so don’t feel bad, because TBH a lot of people are feeling what you are feeling). You’d think after all this time, I would feel different, but I don’t.  It’s kinda like when everyone asks you how you feel on your birthday, as if waking up triggered some type of change in you. I would always say that I felt the same, it wasn’t like I had radically transformed into a brand new being. Or like I had turned in my official 17 year old card for and 18 year old one. I feel like it’s more of the experiences that you have during the year that define what being that age is.

ANYWAY
Freshman year was pretty awesome. Like every typical freshman tip has ever told me, there were many things I was and wasn’t ready for. I wasn’t ready for the intense feelings of insignificance that came with attending a large university. It wasn’t like my high school where everyone generally knew of each other. At Texas State, you could walk around all day and not see the same person twice. However, I was ready for the incredible friendships that I made. I never thought that I could get so close to the people I did in such a short amount of time. Plus, all of my professors were AH-MAZING. Each of them cared so much about what they taught, and were hilarious in their own different way.

College allowed me such a great amount of freedom that I had never experienced before. Every moment of everyday was in my hand. If I decided to go to class or not. If I decided to party or not. If I decided to wear my underwear outside of pants or not. No one could really tell me what I couldn’t do with my time ( you know, as long as it was mostly legal). Sometimes I would stay up late even though I knew I had an 8 am class the next day (which I do not advise if you know you are not a morning person, and even then, it can be rough), just because we were all watching movies. Other times (most of the time) I threw in the towel early because I knew I needed sleep.I had so many wonderful adventures and I’ m so glad to have encountered everyone that I met.

The wonderful roomie Jeni whom I love to pieces.

The wonderful roomie Jeni whom I love to pieces.

MY TWIN! She saw me and took a creeper pic before we met in real life. True story.

MY TWIN! She saw me and took a creeper pic before we met in real life. True story.

Layla, me, and Kinze. The original 3 aka the cast of Clueless.

Layla, me, and Kinze. The original 3 aka the cast of Clueless.

Self Dubbed "Smith Mob". We all met hanging out in the lobby and this was our Secret Santa gift exchange.

Self Dubbed “Smith Mob”. We all met hanging out in the lobby and this was our Secret Santa gift exchange.

Celebrating my first semester.

Celebrating my first semester.

One of my RA's named Jesse and our crew. We are as dysfunctional as they come, but I wouldn't have it any other way.

One of my RA’s named Jesse and our crew. We are as dysfunctional as they come, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I still can’t believe that freshman year is over. But I’m totally excited for my next semester to begin! I’ll be an RA, my friends will live close, and everything is going to be awesome! Now, if I can only get rid of this pesky Freshman 15…..

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

