Daily Dabbles: What is the Best Time of My Life?

I feel like every stage of your life is described as the “best time of your life”. When you’re a little kid, people say things like, “Enjoy it now because this is the best time to be a kid”. Then when you get to high school they say, “High school is the best four year of your life”. Once you graduate from high school it’s all about, “Find who you are in college, because it’s the best time to live”. Am I the only one who is confused?

I feel like we grow in stages. When you’re 10 the best thing in your life (or so you feel) is to be able to go outside and play with Sally. In high school most of us are just trying to fit in and not cause too many waves. Now that I’m in college, all I’m trying to do is to get from Point A to Point B with the least amount of student debt but the most amount of fun and good memories.

What the “best” is for us and one age isn’t the same once we get older. For a while I though that if I didn’t have my “best four years” in high school, then the rest of my life would be mediocre. But that’s not actually true, life is what you make it and if want to make everyday the best day ever go for it!

However, looking back at the last couple of years with wiser eyes, I realize that I was ignorant of many things, and I’m kind of okay with that. I knew there were problems in the world and everything, but they didn’t effect me on the daily. At least that’s what I told myself. I love the movie Mean Girls but I didn’t actually think things like that happened in real life. Let alone in my city or at my school. Now I know that not only are there mean girls, but I had let myself be treated badly because I thought they were my friends.

Moving on…

The reason that I’m okay with all that is because at the time I didn’t know any better. And to be honest, everything that has happened so far has made me into the person that I am now. At certain ages, there are things that take up a lot of my concern, and those are the things that define stages in my life. At 10 I’m not thinking about how I’m going to pay for college, and that’s fine.

So all in all, I believe that the “best time” of my life is the present. I can plan for the future, but it’s the actions of today that determine what happens next. I can reflect on the past, but it’s what I do with the lessons that I’ve learn that is the most important.

Alright, I’m going to take a nap or binge watch Criminal Minds. Something less intense and philosophical!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

