Recent Reads: Ender’s Game

I stumbled upon Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card when I had learned that it would be the newest book-movie transformation. I’m one of those people who have too read the book before I can see the movie, so I didn’t see the movie until a couple of weeks ago.

Ender’s Game is book that fits in with all the dystopian society book-movie adaptations such as The Hunger Games series and the Divergent series.  The writing style is unique because it switches points of view and you can clearly hear the shift in persona. Whereas in Hunger Games and Divergent the government was something “untouchable” and their motives were not explicitly stated unless spoken directly through interactions  with main characters, in Ender’s Game Card uses dialogue between them to inform the reader what is going on.

This plays a major role in how the plot is read and understood, as well as the emotional connection that the reader has with Ender. As a reader, my heart went out to Ender because everyone knew what was happening to him, the reader’s knew what was expected of Ender from the government, we knew how Ender acted and retaliated in response to his treatment, and at the end of the day, I continued to feel remorse for Ender.

The plot is not something that hasn’t been done before. The Earth had been invaded by aliens, human nature survived by our “resourcefulness” and quick thinking from the wrath a superior species, we’re preparing for the next attack, and so forth. However, the way that Card crafted society as a result of that invasion is unique and completely brilliant.

Ender is recruited into Battle School where is trained to become a captain for Command School. From the beginning, a great burden is place on Ender as his is challenged by the professors and his colleagues time after time. Placed under rigorous training, Ender continues to excel and exceed expectations.

As the clock ticks and  the time for the final battle approaches, the fate of humanity is placed in the hands of a child.

There were many times that I had to stop and think about the implications of what was happening to Ender that the other children around them, The way they were subjected to military life and rule was intense and I had to keep reminding myself that these were children that were watched, recruited, and then brought to space to train. Many times in the book, Card would emphasize  the fact that Ender was the youngest, he wasn’t the biggest of kids, but at the end of the day, they were still kids.

Card does a great job of writing Ender’s Game it sheds light on family dynamics, politics, war and the military and it made me think about the world and how all those things work today.

Plus! I just found out that it’s a SERIES! So I’m planning to read all the books I can get my hands on! Once I finished, I was a little bummed because I wanted there to be more and there is, so my day has been made! Happy reading!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

