Packing for College

I just realized that I have less than a month before I go back to my university and I haven’t even started packing yet! Whoops! I start RA training before freshman get on campus and I’m really excited and nervous at the same time. I remember around this time last year, I had already started packing up things and I felt like I didn’t bring enough, but that wasn’t the case! So to keep others from making my mistake, here’s a broad idea of things to bring and things to leave.

Clothing

Don’t:

Bring Clothes You Won’t Wear

If you haven’t worn something in the last 6 months, chances are it won’t be worn, so don’t bother to bring it with you. College closets are super small so it’s all about space management, and part of that is making sure that everything in your closet will work for you. Instead, try investing in versatile pieces and jewelry to spice up your wardrobe.

Bring Your Entire Wardrobe

Leave half of your closet at home and cycle through clothes whenever you get home. I had the luxury of living within a 2 hour drive (with traffic)  from my house, so I knew that I could come home whenever I wanted to get things. But for others who might be going across states, this might not be as helpful. Chances are that you’ll at least be home for Christmas, so when break comes, you can refresh your closet.

Bring Too Many T-Shirts

I came home with almost 30 t-shirts last semester, and I promise, there will be ample chances for you to do the same. There’s no need to bring a lot of t-shirts from home (especially ones from your HS)  because you will get a million and one chances to get new shirts from you new  school!

Do:

Plan for Unexpected Weather

Walking across campus isn’t fun when it’s pouring rain and you’re shivering. So be a champ and pack that rain jacket and cute Hunter boots, because you never know when a storm will hit.

Bring Shoes for All Occasions

You might score a V-Day date, or decide to run a marathon or go to the beach. Regardless, it’s helpful to have shoes other than than one pair of Toms to wear when the need arrives. You don’t have to bring you’re whole collection of pumps, but one nice black or nude pair will suffice.

Plan For a Night Out

Bring at least one “power outfit”. Something that you feel confident in, just in case you need a pick me up or a girl’s night out. There are many events and opportunities that call for a nicer attire, where jeans don’t really make the cut. So one nice dress or skirt will be a great addition you your closet.

Furniture

Don’t:

Bring Bulky Furniture

Chances are, you won’t need that futon, just saying.  There’s always going to be a place where you and your friends can hang out like the lobby or a cutesy coffee shop. Bulky furniture is not only a pain to move, they also take up a lot of floor space, and that makes the room feel a lot smaller than it actually is.

Feel Bad About Not Bringing A Television

Same as with the furniture, there a TON of places where you can watch Dancing with the Stars. Plus getting out of the room creates more chances for you meet new people and that’s always a good thing. Unless you’re planning on bringing your gaming system and playing a lot, there isn’t a great need for a TV. Plus with services such as Netflix and Hulu, you can see everything from the comfort of your own bed.

Do:

Bring Pictures of Home

Seriously, pictures are a great way to express yourself and show your personality! You can print them as Polaroids or do a collage. The wall is your oyster! Also, it helps when homesickness strikes to have memories of home and friends to look at.

Buy Furniture That Does Double Duty

Last semester I bought a storage ottoman like this in teal and it has saved my life. I used it as a stepping stool to get on top of my highly lofted bed, it was a place to sit when friends where over, and it was where my roommate and I stored snacks and other random things. The more useful something can be, the better.

Bring A Mattress Cover

Changes are that the mattress that you’ll be sleeping on is either older than you are, or has had some serious sketchy activities happening on it. Protect yourself from nastiness by investing in a mattress cover. It fits like a sheet and then you can put your new sheets on top of it and sleep easy at night.

Decor

Don’t:

Bring Your Entire Crafting Supply

Chances are you won’t need everything. If you have plans to make canvases or more decorations, buy what you need when you plan to make them and then keep those materials with you. That way you don’t haul your entire supply of scrapbook paper and end up not using it at all.

Do:

Command Hooks

Do I need to say more?

Invest in an Area Rug

I have tile in my Residence Hall and it’s super cold in the morning and during the chillier months, having a nice rug not only gives your room some color and personality, but can  also make your room look and feel larger. Plus if you’re anything like me, falling on carpet is a little better than falling on tile.

 

Hope this helps as you pack! I know it’s a daunting task to think about, but you can do it!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

