An Open Letter From My Eighteen Year Old Self

So, my birthday was 8 days ago, and I am now in the last of my teen years! I seriously can’t imagine how this happened, I swear I was 10 yesterday! Anyway, I remembered that on my 18th birthday, I had written a letter to myself for me to read when I turned 19. So here it is! Let’s see how much I’ve accomplished.

Dear Chid,

By the time you are 19 years old, there are a couple of things I hope you’ve accomplished or at least started working on.

  1. I hope you’ve decided if a mission is something you are committed to. Remember that time serving the Lord is time well spent.
  2. I hope you have your patriarchal blessing by now and I hope you look at it often.
  3. Please decide what you want to do with your life other than saying something in medicine.
  4. I hope you’ve at least tried new foods, it will help you in the long run.
  5. Please keep dancing.
  6. Work out and be committed. I always complain about my body, so now its time to do something about it.
  7. Lastly, please gain confidence in yourself.

Dear Eighteen Year Old Me,

Life hasn’t worked out exactly how we planned it. There’s been a lot of downs and struggles that weren’t planned but at the same time, there has been some wonderful moments.A year ago, we were dead-set on going to med school, and now that looks like it may or may not happen. It has nothing to do with you intellectual capabilities, I promise. Sometimes life deals you a hand you weren’t planning for and you have to learn how to play it by ear and adapt. One of those things includes deciding that a mission isn’t right for you. We’ve done lots of praying and searching for answers, and we got what we were looking for, just not in the way we hoped. But that’s okay! The patriarchal blessing is on it’s way, I swear! We are  on our way to getting it!

Although our professional career is kind of iffy right now, there’s one thing that we know for sure, and that is our love for chemistry. I know how bizarre! That  one class that kicked our butt in high school is something that we enjoy. There are a couple of specific career paths that we are looking at, and time is getting short, but we’ll work something out.

As for trying new things….I tried. You know how much of a picky eater we are, but nonetheless progress is happening! We’re not on the extreme level of trying anything at anytime, but at least I can say that I’ve tried. Along with that comes the dancing and exercise part. Dancing hasn’t really been on the radar, but we’ve learned that we really like yoga! How cool is that? Going to the gym at school has kinda been a struggle, mainly because we feel like we’ll be judged, but that has been dealt with.

And finally, the confidence issue.

It’s a work in progress. We’re a lot farther than we were but there’s still a ways to go before we get to where we want to be.

All in all, I want you to know that so far we’ve enjoyed life, even with all the craziness that has happened. The future is a thing that is unpredictable and to think to control it as we want to isn’t realistic. We’ve learned to go with the flow more and be happy with what happens. We’ve learned that sometimes our wishes and wants change, and that not everyone is destined for the same path. Stick in there, because it gets better.

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

