Daily Dabbles: Awkward Eye Contact

If there is one thing that I am proud of that I wish I could put on my resume it would be that I have a high proficiency towards making awkward eye contact.

Seriously.

And most of the time it doesn’t happen just once. Nope, I am a repeat offender. It’s not like I go out of my way to stare or creep people out. It just happens. Then I look again to see if the other person is looking at me still, and make awkward eye contact again.

I don’t know if it is just me, or if I have a gravitational pull for all things awkward but this keeps happening. I think its a sign from the universe that I should focus more, and daydream less.

My main concern is why is accidental eye contact so weird? I have eyes, you have eyes, my eyes see your eyes, your eyes see my eyes looking at your eyes  (okay I think we get the point). Anyway, all I’m saying it that is shouldn’t be a big deal. Right?

Whenever I make awkward eye contact I just try to smile and advert my attention away as quickly as possible and pretend it didn’t happen. But then my mind goes into overdrive and I start thinking about random thinks like, “What if the reason they were looking at me is because there’s something on my face?” or “Maybe I don’t have a shirt on and they’re trying to tell me something.”

You know completely irrational things.

Other times, when I make awkward eye contact I feel like criminal who has just been caught trying to saw their way out of the cell with a plastic spoon. I freeze up and I can’t look away, and then the other person doesn’t look away. So now we’re both just looking at each other waiting for someone to look away first.

Most of the time only two or three seconds actually pass, but it feels like an eternity! But that’s just me. Well, until next time!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

