The First Night

It was finally move-in day and I remember being so excited! All my bags were packed and I was ready to go. A part of me was excited to start this new chapter of my life, and the other part was nervous because in my mind things would never be the same again (a little dramatic right?). With my mom, my sister, and my bags in tow, it was time to go.

Moving in was a little hectic. We had to park here and then walk there, get keys here and then move other there. Unpacking was fun, and luckily I already knew my roommate so there was no need for awkward introductions and conversations.

Throughout the day, I kept looking at my mom to see how she was handling everything, since this was a new experience for the both of us because I’m the oldest, and the first one to leave for college. I could tell that she was both happy for me and sad that I was leaving.

Finally it was time, there was nothing left for us to use as a reason to delay. My room was nice and tidy, we had already gone to Target, so it was time to face the inevitable. My mom, sister and I walked to the car and gave each other a round of hugs. Then some more hugging and couple of tears and promises to call.

It was when  my mom and my sister got in the car and started to drive away, that’s when it hit me. It felt like I was being dropped off at daycare for the first time, not knowing when my mom would come pick me up again. I was left with my juice box and the command to play nice with others. I kind of laughed at myself, it’s not the first time I’ve been away from home, so why was I being such a baby?

Regardless, the day went on. I had a floor meeting, met my awesome RA Ruffin and went about my day not knowing exactly what to do with myself because it was Saturday and preview week didn’t start until Monday.

So now it was night time. I climbed into my new bed, cuddled up with my blanket and waited to fall asleep. But, I didn’t. I spent my first night on campus wide awake. I kept thinking about going home, about meeting new people, if I would even like college, if anyone would like me and so on.

Sad huh?

But that’s okay because the next night I slept like a baby. My semester turned out to be amazing and I made wonderful friends and awesome memories!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

