Daily Dabbles: When Life Gives You Lemons But You’re Allergic to Citrus

Everyone has heard that saying:

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

Well it’s not that simple my friends, not unless life provides you with a pitcher, water and some sugar to go along with those lemons. Otherwise that lemonade is going to be pretty sad and bitter, kinda like how I feel  right now.

Okay, maybe that’s a little dramatic, but you get what I mean.

The origin of the whole lemon-lemonade saying actually came from someone describing how someone they knew was very optimistic in the face of adversity. And that’s something that can be really hard to do, especially being in college. One thing about college life is that it’s definitely a roller coaster of a ride. One day you can be on top of the world and the next day, not so much.

As a perfectionist, when things happen that are out of my control, or that I didn’t plan for, I feel a little lost and out of touch with reality for a while.For any of my fellow perfectionist out there can I get an amen? I planned to do well on my lab, I felt like I did well on my lab, turns out that I did not do well on my lab (and it basically ruined my day). A  lot of this has happened throughout my week, and it’s seriously been taking a toll on my emotional well-being.

Life keeps handing me lemons and I don’t want them! They’re making me ill!

Well maybe not literally, but figuratively they are.

I know that this is where I should dig deep and pull out some source of inner strength and push through, preferably with Destiny’s Child Survivor playing in the background, but I’m kinda in a slump. It’s only been a month of classes and I already feel like I have no attainable goals anymore. I need to make A’s this semester, but at my projected trajectory it’s going to be an uphill battle.

I’ve started making steps in the right direction. I’ve been working on my FoMO and forcing myself to study more, but as someone who has never really found a solid study pattern that works, it’s still something that I need to improve on. There’s a host of things that I need to work on and I feel like sophomore year of college may or may not kick my butt. It just kinda stinks because I feel like I have been investing a lot in my classes, and my grades aren’t reflecting that work. Maybe I just need to work harder.

So what am I going to do with all these lemons that I have? Lemonade is an option, but with this copious amount of lemons it’ll end up being a tad tart. If anyone has any good lemon recipes let me know!

xo

Chid

3 thoughts on “Daily Dabbles: When Life Gives You Lemons But You’re Allergic to Citrus

Leave a Reply

