Daily Dabbles: Seeing The Fruits of My Labors

Recently a lot of things have been looking up. I got a good grade on my chemistry test, my time management skills have been a lot better and there’s also been some positive cash flow in my direction. How great is that?

As someone who enjoys instant gratification, it has been really helpful to see the improvement of my life from the last couple of weeks. After I went to a time management workshop and got the kick in the rear that I really needed, my motivation for positive change in my life has been at an all time high.

It helps when seeing positive results in correlation to positive changes in my life. I realized that I have the same 24 hours in my day as everyone else, including that one person who seems to be president of seven clubs, on the Dean’s List, in a sorority, has a job and a great social life. So the real question is what have I been doing with my time?

I learned that some of my problems came from FoMO and once I acknowledged the problem, half the battle was already won. I had to get it in my mind that I need to focus on myself and make sure that I am getting what I need done, then I can have time to socialize. I also know that I struggle with being proactive instead of reactive, and that has caused things to slip away and out of my control (which I hate). To fix that, I’ve been sticking to my planner and making sure to address problems before they even become a problem.

Now, I know that I have a long way to go before I get to where I want to be, but at least I’m making strides in the right direction! If I am able to keep doing what I’m doing and turn my weakness into strengths then I will be able to grow as a person and become more well-rounded.

Also, a HUGE shout-out to my RD Kendra and my mom for holding me accountable for my actions and inspiring me to become the best version of myself. Sometimes all it takes is for someone to say that they believe in you and want to see you succeed. Also, I knew that I didn’t want to let anyone down, so the pressure to live up to expectations was on for me. All things considered, my life has taken a complete 180! Now, if I can only get past these next two weeks of mid-terms in once piece!

xo
Chid

Leave a Reply

