Registration or The Hunger Games?

Well, it’s that time of year again that everyone loves: Registration! For some reason I’ve always thought that registration came really early. Like, hold on a second, I just now got into the groove of things, and now I have to figure out my life for the next semester? I don’t even know what I’m eating for lunch yet!

Registration is something that can either go amazing and you get the classes you need at wonderful times, or not so much. Most of the time it’s the latter. Technical difficulties, surprise holds on your student accounts and uncertainty about if you even want to be a nursing major anymore seem to be everywhere.

The whole registration system intrigues me, and for some reason thinking about registration reminds me of The Hunger Games. For example, some students have a better chance than others for getting prime pickings on classes (not that I’m complaining) which is kind of similar to some districts having the odds in their favor. The countdown to registration access times is basically the same as the countdown to the beginning of The Hunger Games. Once that clock reached 6:00 AM it was a bloodbath for non-8 AM and no Friday classes. As for our advisers, some of them could be like Effie and be super invested and want us to have a fabulous time, and others could be how Haymitch was in the beginning and barely to the minimum.

So, as an Honor’s student I get to take super cool classes such as African American Pop Culture, Advanced Video Game Storytelling, Witches and Whores: Capital Crime in Early America. The only thing is that getting into those classes is EXACTLY like The Reaping in The Hunger Games because at most the class has 20 seats available. If one is interested in a class, then they write their name and ID number on a slip of paper and put it in an envelope. Then names are randomly selected and whoever gets chosen is in the class.

Now, I understand that registration is done as fairly as possible, and like I said earlier, I’m not complain. I just thought about the similarities and couldn’t help but laugh a little bit. Hopefully you laughed too!

xo
Chid

Leave a Reply

