Daily Dabbles: When You Pray For Class To Get Cancelled And Get A Tornado Instead

All I can say is that the Lord works in mysterious ways.

With that being said, let’s begin.

Somewhere between 12-3 am, I had woken up yet again from restless sleep. I’ve been trying to sleep for what seemed about years, and every-time I got close, the elevator would ding, or my foot would twitch or something would wake me back up. I was tired, I was cranky, and I was praying that the Lord would have mercy on me and prompt my professor to cancel class, which would be a miracle. Not that I don’t like going to class, but the chances of my class getting canceled were slim to none. For example, my professor’s wife was having a baby that was due sometime in the next 8-12 hours and class was still not canceled.

After I was blessed with some sleep, I woke up and went through my morning routine. I made my bed, took a shower and checked the weather before I got dressed. I saw that there was a chance of rain, so I grabbed my umbrella and made my way out of my room to the elevator.

I pressed the button and the next thing I knew the power was flickering on and off. For some reason, I didn’t think that when the power goes on and off for a few minutes that anything is wrong. I decided to take the stairs down and make my way to class, while calling my mom for our morning talks.

When I got downstairs, I saw a handful of the 8 am crew ( what I call my residents that have 8 am’s obviously) chilling by the elevator. I asked them what they were doing, and they told me that it was raining pretty hard. Still on the phone with my mom, I thought that they were over-exaggerating and was determined to go to class. I don’t skip class, ever. So rain wasn’t really going to stop me (not to mention that attendance is part of our grade). That was until I saw the river that was flowing down in-front of my building.

My campus already has a river, a singular  river, as in ONE, and I’m pretty sure it’s not located in-front of my hall. That’s the moment where I decided that I was going to take a hard pass on class for the day (the only 1 that I had) and stay home. I told my mom that I was skipping because of the weather and she told me to be cautious and to keep her posted.

It seemed that all was well until I got a text alert saying that we were under tornado watch.

A tornado watch.

Once more for emphasis…

A TORNADO WATCH.

As in one of the high schools was hit by the tornado. As in this was not a drill, it was the real thing. Water is coming in through the windows and the doors, a leak started on my floor, and in the blink of an eye I went for pedestrian Chid to RA Chid. Now, I was telling people to back away from the windows and get into the stairwell for safety.

Albert, bless his soul, came downstairs and started handling the situation because he was on that on call life, and I went upstairs (9 flights of stairs by the way) to get my residents. The struggle was so real and it felt as if everything was happening all at once. I was being bombarded with question about the weather, about classes and about other things, I needed to help stop the water from getting into the building, and I needed to help clean up the leak on the 9th floor.

Parents were calling residents, I was calling my parents and things were happening. Then there was peace. The tornado watch was lifted, residents could return to their rooms, and classes were canceled for the day.

Shout out to our custodial staff who totally helped us out when push came to shove. Literally water was coming out of one of the sockets and rushing through the doors, and yet they were able to get everything cleaned up with minimal casualties, as in I didn’t trip on anything.

As if that wasn’t enough, the fire alarm also went off later that day, but don’t worry, it was totally unrelated to the tornado incident.  No matter what all happened today, the most important thing is that no one was really hurt, so that’s a plus! Even though this job can be crazy and a little hectic, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I’ve learned how to think on my feet and take charge of situations, which is something that I know  I struggle strongly with.

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

