Daily Dabbles:Waiting Until The New Year Is Lame

Friends, the countdowns have begun. Top 10 Movies of the Year, Top 5 Celebrity Break Ups and so on. The year is winding down and everyone is reflecting back on 2015 saying the same thing that was said last year.

Where did the time go?

Along with the holiday season comes New Years, and we all know what that means! New Year New Me posts on Facebook, and everyone raving about their New Years Resolutions. I for one am 0-18 for years that I have successful kept all my resolutions (And it is okay if you are too, honesty. Own it, flaunt it, tell the world about it.)

The one bone that I have to pick with making New Years Resolutions is this: why wait? If you want something to change in your life and you are passionate about it, why do you need permission from the calendar to get started?

The answer: you don’t.

Do you think anyone who has done anything noteworthy waited until January 1st to get the ball rolling on their ideas? Did Captain James T. Kirk wait until January 1st to decide that he wanted to be captain of the U.S.S Enterprise? Of course not!

The problem is not that we don’t have reasonable goals and dreams, the problem is that we want to wait for the optimal time to chase them. Allow  me to let you in on a secret… everyday is the best day to be a better you. There is no point in time, no specific day that is the”best” day to start going after what we want, in fact, we should be doing that anyway, regardless of what the calendar says.

I know that there have been many times in my life where I’ll think that I should start working out and being nicer to my body, but then I’ll rationalize it and procrastinate going on a run until Monday, or starting tomorrow, or waiting until I have a workout partner. You see how I’m sabotaging myself?

Procrastination is something that I am very good at, unfortunately it also happens to be the killer of dreams and goals. There’s a saying that goes pretty well with what I’m trying to get at here and it is:

The best day to plant a tree was 20 years ago.

So don’t wait! Whatever goals you have, go after them now!  I promise, no one has ever regretted attaining their goal earlier than expected, and you won’t either. No one has to wait until the stars perfectly align and they feel ready to depart on a glorious adventure because honestly, if we waited until we were ready, we’d be waiting forever.

So go out there and do that thing you’ve always been wanting to do! I believe in you!

 

xo

Chid

 

One thought on “Daily Dabbles:Waiting Until The New Year Is Lame

Leave a Reply

