Goals Not Resolutions: Res Life Edition

In a previous post (which you can find here) I talked about how I wasn’t really a fan of making New Year Resolutions and whatnot. However, since the beginning of a new semester is coming up, and I now have a feel for RA life, there are somethings that I know I want to improve upon. But they are not resolutions because I think goals is a better connotation of what I’m going for. Plus 92% of Americans fail to keep up with their New Year Resolutions and I don’t like those statistics applying to my job performance.

Okay, I’m done rambling.

Spring Semester RA Goals:

  • Step Up My Programming Game

How would you feel if I told you that one of the main reasons I became an RA was so I could be crafty all the time? Because it’s true. I love making passives and door decs and anything else that involves a hot glue gun and glitter, but getting people together and doing stuff has been something that I have struggled with. I know that I can be a better programmer if I plan ahead, and that is something that I didn’t do much of last semester. I would have wonderful ideas but they would be last minute, and we all know that petty cash needs to be put in two weeks in advance. So over the break I have been thinking of program ideas, flyers and materials needed so that come spring semester, all I have to do is submit my proposals.

  • Make Better Connections With My Mystery Residents

On my floor, I have a handful of residents that I know by name only, as in I only know that they have a name. Their rooms always seems so be empty when it is time for inspections, and somehow they never seem to be around. So this semester, I’m going to try harder to find all those introverts and get to know them better, maybe get them to come to a program or two. I understand that not all of them find their main community within the hall, but I want them to know that I’m not a regular RA, I’m a cool RA (total Mean Girls reference) and I care about them.

  • Be Proactive While Working Desk

My fall semester desk shifts were mid-afternoon and early evening, so I didn’t have a lot going on, other than checking out pool supplies and getting mail. I know that when I’m working desk, my number one priority is being an RA, watching the lobby, taking phone calls, doing whatever my RD needs me to do. But most of the time, I have  down time, so in that down time I plan on making sure I maximize it and do as much as possible, like making sure my collateral is up to date and that the desk is clean and so forth.

  • Win An Of The Month

This is more a pride thing, because I know that my passives are pretty okay (this is me humble bragging). But I have yet to win an award for them yet and I want to! Plus my RD really pushes us to do our best work and reap the benefits and I want to make her proud of me. So this semester, it’s glue guns a-blazing because there’s an award with my name on it.

  • Learn How To Balance My Job With My Studies Better

This semester had a lot of changes for me. It was my first semester back from the hospital, my first semester as an RA and I was taking a challenging class that literally kicked my butt. I found myself struggling to maintain the level of work that I wanted in both my educational and professional life and both suffered because of it. Next semester is not going to be any easier, but I know that in order to perform as well as I want , I need to improve my time management and study habits. Give myself enough time to be the RA that I want to be, as well as the student I want to be and prepare and execute things in a timely manner.

So there you have it ladies and gents, my RA goals for Spring Semester!

xo

Chid

2 thoughts on “Goals Not Resolutions: Res Life Edition

  1. weaintgonnastandshit says:

    I definitely think it’s a good idea to try to connect with your “mysterious” residents. I live in a dorm and my roommate and I haven’t talked since the first month of the semester! She never leaves our room or comes to the floor meetings, but I definitely feel like our RA should try to reach out to her. I feel like that’s something a lot of RAs want to do but never get around to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wanderful.life says:

      Thanks for the comment! I know as an RA it makes my job a lot easier when residents tell me about their roommates, that way I am more aware and try extra hard to reach out to the individual. So maybe next semester let your RA know that you think your roomie needs a little more love. Plus it helps us out if you make an effort as well, so invite them along for dinner or to a program in your hall. If your roommate is super introverted, invite them to read a book with you in the common area so they don’t have to interact with anyone, but they are out of the room! Hope this helps and good luck with next semester!

      Like

Leave a Reply

