Third First Day of College

Good news! I survived the first day of college for the third time! As I walked up the hills to my class, I felt a sense of nostalgia for some reason. I realized that I was a junior in college, and it kind of hit me that I never actually planned for this part of my life. When I thought about being a “grown up” and being twenty, I didn’t really think about the fact that there was this in-between stage where I’m not where I want to be, but I’m also not in a bad place. I just hopped from graduating high school to graduating pharmacy school, and glossed over the middle part.

I also felt some sadness, because by now I thought I would’ve accomplished more in my life than I have already. I feel like I have ambitious thoughts, yet because of my fear of failure, I rarely pursue them. So then I’m left with a hollowness where a memory could have been.

Anyway, moving on from the sad part.

I knew that today was going to be a rough day because the night before, I slipped on my ottoman and scrapped/bruised my leg and hand right before I went to bed. As I laid stunned on the ground, I was overwhelmed with the feeling of loneliness. I didn’t have a roommate to ask me if  I was alright, or to laugh at my struggle, and it really made me miss my freshman year of college. Now, don’t get me wrong, sometimes it’s nice to have a room to myself, but thinking about all the memories that I made with Jeni, stirs up some feelings of longing. Just the knowledge that there is someone there at night to talk to, or to come back from class and see a familiar face  is something you don’t think about missing when you become an RA.

Okay, now seriously moving on to the happy part.

I woke up on time for my 8 am Microbiology lab all the way across campus. I wish I was exaggerating, but I’m not. My hall is one of the most southern halls on campus, and the building where my class is held is located on the far side, it’s about a 15 or 20 minute walk uphill, depending on which direction the wind is blowing. I also got to talk to my mom on the phone while I walked, which helped pass the time. In my Microbiology lab, we dove right in and started with a simple lab of collecting samples, dyeing slides, and identifying structures of bacteria. I was really proud of myself because somehow I made it to my junior year of college without being proficient with a microscope, ( I can use one, obviously, but I always needed help finding exactly what I was looking for because I would over-adjust the coarse tuners) but today, I found the microbes all by myself! It was a small victory for me, and it just revamped my love for biology and the sciences in general.

Right after lab, I have Microbiology Lecture, and to my surprise a knew a lot of people in that class! A handful of my old residents from last year are in the class with me, and they still like me and were excited to see me! I also share the class with some people who where in my Organic Chemistry class with me last semester, and with one of my fellow RA friends who worked at the hall next to mine the year before. My professor is wonderful, and  I know that I will like her. She has a wonderful sense of humor, and I think I’ll be able to get an A in that class.

From the edge of campus, I had to basically run back towards center of campus for my Psych class. As I sped up the stairs, I tripped and fell on the stairs in front of about 30 people, how embarrassing! But it’s okay because I just got up and ran the rest of the way into my classroom. When I got there, I was a little bummed because I wanted to sit in the front, but because I was only 3 minutes early instead of 10, all of the front seats were taken, so I had to sit all the way in the back. But on the plus side, I got to sit next to a really nice girl who introduced herself to me, also two of my friends were also in that class! Since we only went over the syllabus, we  got out of class an hour early, which gave me time to eat lunch. Note: Don’t schedule a 3 hour lab, and 3 one and a half hour classes back to back with no lunch break. Anyway, since we got out of class early,  I got to eat!

During lunch, I ran into two of my friends who used to be RA’s and one friend who used to be an RA at the hall I currently reside in, who is at another hall. We talked about classes, training (the good and the bad), how things have changed, and on-call scheduling. This made me feel better about my life, because I began to realize how many connections that I had made through the RA position, and how it has positively affected my life. I’m an awkward person, and it is hard for me to make friends, but with position I’m kind of forced to meet new people. I keep bumping into them, training, in-service, and hall projects are mechanisms for forcing RA’s to know each other (in a nice, I have new friends way). I left my friends to head back to class and this is where it gets funny.

The building where my next class is, is located right next door to where my Microbiology lab + lecture is located, and where I’ve had my biology labs for the past three years. So my brain kind of went into autopilot as I headed down a familiar path and I ended up going to the right classroom number. I realized this with only three or so minutes left until my next lecture started, and I was panicking because I had awkwardly waited for an elevator to get to the third floor, and a hallway of people were watching me scramble and turn around.  I went down the stairs because I couldn’t face having the people who saw me exit the elevator go back into the elevator. I dashed into the right building and almost found my way to class when I got lost again!  As I looked for my classroom, a professor came up to me and asked me what I was looking for. I told her the room number and she replied, “Perfect, you’re with me! That’s where I’m going.” So I met my Physics professor that way.

Side Note: My Physics professor is THE COOLEST! I was thinking about switching lectures to Tuesday and Thursday lecture at a different time when she wouldn’t be teaching, but then I listened to her explain her passion and love for physics and her excitement motivated me! So I’m staying in the class! She has so much energy, and is so funny, I can’ wait to see how the semester goes. Regardless of the fact that she stressed the need to spend at least 15 hours a week studying for her one class, I’m still excited for the class.

After Physics, I was done for the day, so I went back downhill to my hall. I took some pictures with my first day of college banner that I made for my residents. I also went to my staff meeting, talked to my Cozy-Co about our LC calendar and talked to one of our LC residents about programs! All and all, it was a great first day!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

