Recent Reads: Velocity

Before winter break started, a few of my staff members and I went on a short day adventure. We went out to have lunch, shopped around a little bit and then stopped at Half-Priced Books. I got to pick up a couple of books to read over the break, one of them being Velocity by Dean Koontz.  I was a little surprised after reading that I enjoyed it so much, because I’m more a fantasy type girl, think Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings. However, I’ve been going through a lot of series recently, and I wanted something that I could pick up and put down without selling my soul (I’m looking at you Patrick Rothfuss).

So I picked up a cheery looking yellow book and turned to the back to see a synopsis and this is what I read:

If you don’t take this note to the police and get them involved, I will kill a lovely blond schoolteacher somewhere in Napa County.

If you do take this note to the police, I will instead kill an elderly woman active in charity work.

You have six hours to decide.

The choice is yours.”

What.

Did.

I.

Just.

Read.

I knew then, that I had to take the book home. I had to know how everything would pan out. Already I was thinking about the moral implications of the request. Inaction is not an option, or rather inaction is an option that will still lead to someone’s demise. Action, will also lead to another person’s downfall. Who is to say which life is worth saving? All of these thoughts ran around my mind as I scanned the first few pages.

The main character Billy is extremely ordinary, he’s had his share of hardships, his fiancée is in a coma and he’s a bartender. One day he finds a note on his windshield with a deadline and an impossible ultimatum that turns his life upside down.

As time goes on, the notes continue, the deadlines are shorter, and Billy’s life turns more into a fast paced horror movie. With nothing but his wits he has to figure out who is tormenting his life, and ending the lives of others. The pressure is on as he is given the choice to choose the psychopath’s victims, as he himself becomes a victim to the cruel mind of the killer.

While reading the book, I couldn’t help but think about what I would do in such a situation. Knowing that even if I decided to do nothing, that dire consequences would ensue. I think Koontz was brilliant in his plot and the added sense of urgency. In real life, even inaction is a choice that has consequences, typically however they do not include deciding who a psychopath kills though.

Every detail is flawlessly sewn together, and I didn’t even guess who the killer was until late in the book.  Velocity is a page turner that you can’t put down. With each chapter that passes, the stakes are raised and you just have to keep reading to find the resolution. Velocity is a thriller that makes us question your own morality and how you view the world. Not everything is as it seems.

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

