RA Training Spring Edition Day 3: BCD

Today was the last real day of training, and thank goodness! Not that this training has been particularly difficult or anything, but I’ve been stressing about my pharmacy school interviews. Anyway, this morning was kind of a wreck.  I woke up a little later than usual and prepped for my interview before taking a shower and making my way up to the desk.

I started working on my passive to pass the time until the rest of my staff showed up so that we could go together to participate in BCD (Behind Closed Doors). Unbeknown to me, every single one of my staff members thought that the time for BCD was completely different that it actually was. We had to be there at 1 o’clock, and some of us thought it was at 1:30 or at 2:00. It was the struggle to wake people up, and we actually called someone while they were still in the shower to make sure that they were up.

After the fiasco of not knowing what time we had to bee there, we piled into the car and drove to our on campus apartment complex. There has been a lot of administrative changes, so the apartments are now part of our area, which is new and fun. We met up with other halls in our area and started with a small ice breaker.

For some reason, every time the word ice breaker is said in a room of RAs we all roll our eyes and grudgingly participate. Maybe it is because we try so hard to get our residents to do them, and they never do. Or maybe it is the whole preaching to the choir dynamic. Luckily Eli, who is the area director for my area made it super short and quick. Name and major, that’s it.

The whole purpose of BCD is to expose RAs to the different scenarios that can occur in the hall at any moment. Although it is very unlikely that one RA will encounter every single one of the scenes that were portrayed, it is good to know how to approach anything and everything. Being an RA is one of those things were, it doesn’t matter how much you practice a scene, real life has unpredictable variables and each situation will be unique. However, it is important to know how to handle the different situations and have a baseline of what to go off of.

We had some heavy scenes such as a resident contemplating suicide, as well as other not so intense scenes such as making sure residents don’t open the door for strangers. The way that we did BCD this time was a lot better than at previous training in the fall because we were given the scenes as a staff and we had to act them out ourselves and resolve the issue in front of the other RAs. After the scene was other, we got constructive criticism from other RAs, RDs, and our AD Eli.

This way was a lot less awkward than before and it also allowed us as a staff to discuss how we could adapt everything to our hall, and rely on each others strengths. The only down part was the scene was as serious as the group wanted to take it, but none of the staffs decided to over dramatize the scenes which was good.

After BCD there was a lunch quest that came up empty because basically all of the dining halls on campus were closed except one that was on the other side of campus. I ended up eating in my room and that was okay. I finished my passive which was exciting, and I am pretty proud of it. Not only does it tie into the theme of my learning community, I got to practice my hand-lettering on  a larger scale, that wasn’t a piece of paper in my journal.

Now that training is winding down, I can focus more on my interview for A&M which is in a few short days. I’m so excited and nervous at the same time. I can’t believe that I am one step away from the rest of my life, and its trilling to know that I have what it takes to get this far in the application process. Hopefully I’ll be accepted into their pharmacy program! I’ll keep y’all posted!

xo

Chid

Leave a Reply

